1st Grade End of the Year Assessment | Printable Classroom Resource | The Moffatt Girls

Regular Price
$ 8.00
Sale Price
$ 8.00
Regular Price
$ 10.00
Unit Price
- +

Shop more of The Moffatt Girls products: Click Here!

First Grade End of Year Assessments

This end-of-year assessment is designed to be an easy and engaging way to assess students. Most portions of the assessment can be given whole group if that works best for your class.

*Please note that this is a downloaded pdf file. No physical product will be sent to you.

Also available:



The assessment covers every Common Core standard for First Grade. It can be used for portfolios, parent meetings, grading, or to identify skills to focus on for end-of-year review. ⭐The First Grade End of the Year I Can Show What I Know Packet (student edition)is kid friendly and designed to administer assessments in a stress free way.


It is recommended that you give the assessment over the course of a week. Each part is one page. Most parts will take 10-15 minutes to complete.

An example administration guide is provided in the packet. However, the test can be administered however it fits your class schedule.


What is Included in the download?

  1. Student I Can Show What I Know End of the Year Book (Assessments) (27 pages)
  2. Teacher End of the Year Instruction/Guide Packet (To administer assessments) (44 pages)
  3. Teacher End of the Year Answer Key to all Assessments (20 pages)


All Standards are covered and include the following:

  • Phonemic Awareness and Phonics
  • Oral Reading
  • Printing and Dictation
  • Grammar
  • Reading Literature
  • Reading Informational Texts
  • Building Vocabulary
  • Sharing My Opinion
  • Telling a Story
  • Teaching and Informing
  • Presenting and Listening
  • Counting and Explaining
  • Numbers & Operations in Base Ten
  • Measurement and Data
  • Geometry


The assessment is divided into 4 sections. Each section is further broken up into smaller parts to make it easy to administer.


Section 1: Foundational Skills

Covers all Reading Literature and Reading Information Text standards

Covers some Language standards

The Foundational Skills section is divided into four parts:

  • Part 1: Phonemic Awareness & Phonics

Standards: RF.1.2.A, RF.1.2.B, RF.1.2.C, RF.1.2.D, RF.1.3.A, RF.1.3.C, RF.1.3.D, RF.1.3.E

  • Part 2: Oral Reading

Standards: RF.1.1, RF.1.1.A, RF.1.3.B, RF.1.3.F, RF.1.3.G, RF.1.4.A, RF.1.4.B, RF.1.4.C,

RL.1.3, RL.1.10

  • Part 3: Printing & Dictation

Standards: L.1.1.A, L.1.2.A, L.1.2.B, L.1.2.C, L.1.2.D, L.1.2.E

  • Part 4: Grammar & Word Use

Standards: L.1.1.B, L.1.1.C, L.1.1.D, L.1.1.E


Section 2: Reading Comprehension

Covers all Reading Comprehension Skills standards

The reading comprehension portion is divided into five parts:

  • Part 1: Reading Literature 1

Standards: RL.1.2, RL.1.3, RL.1.5, RL.1.6, RL.1.7, RL.1.9

  • Part 2: Reading Literature 2

Standards: RL.1.1, RL.1.4, RL.1.10*

  • Part 3: Reading Informational Texts 1

Standards: RI.1.1, RI.1.3, RI.1.4, RI.1.8, RI.1.9

  • Part 4: Reading Informational Texts 2

Standards: RI.1.2, RI.1.5, RI.1.6, RI.1.7, RI.1.10*


Section 3: Writing, Speaking and Listening

Covers all Writing and Speaking & Listening standards

Covers some Language standards

The writing, speaking, and listening section is divided into four parts:

  • Part 1: Sharing My Opinion

Standards: W.1.1

  • Part 2: Telling a Story

Standards: W.1.3

  • Part 3: Teaching & Informing

Standards: W.1.2, W.1.7, W.1.8

  • Part 4: Presenting & Listening

Standards: SL.1.1.A, SL.1.1.B, SL.1.1.C, SL.1.2, SL.1.3, SL.1.4, SL.1.5, SL.1.6,

L.1.1.D, L.1.1.F, L.1.1.G, L.1.1.H, L.1.1.I, L.1.1.J, L.1.6, W.1.5


  • Section 4: Math

Covers all Math standards

The Math section is divided into five parts:

  • Part 1: Counting & Explaining (one on one)

Standards: 1.NBT.A.1, 1.NBT.C.4, 1.NBT.C.5, 1.NBT.C.6

  • Part 2: Numbers & Operations in Base Ten

Standards: 1.NBT.2, 1.NBT.2.A, 1.NBT.2.B, 1.NBT.2.C, 1.NBT.B.3

  • Parts 3-4: Operations & Algebraic Thinking

Standards: 1.OA.A.1, 1.OA.A.2, 1.OA.B.3, 1.OA.B.4, 1.OA.C.5, 1.OA.C.6, 1.OA.D.7,


  • Part 5: Measurement & Data

Standards: 1.MD.A.1, 1.MD.A.2, 1.MD.B.3, 1.MD.C.4

  • Part 6: Geometry

Standards: 1.G.A.1, 1.G.A.2, 1.G.A.3


More Questions?

Feel free to email me at themoffattgirls@gmail.com


⭐⭐Be sure to follow the Moffatt Girls on:⭐⭐

Contact us